One of Sussex’s proud boasts is that its County Cricket Club is the oldest in the country, nay the world and the cricket ground has always been located in Brighton and Hove.
The Club was established in March 1839, its first fixture being played at the Royal New Ground, Brighton. In 1848 it moved to the Royal Brunswick Ground.
In 1872, the land was required for the expansion of the town, so the Club relocated to a barley field between Eaton Road and Cromwell Road and, after the harvest, covered the ground with turf taken from the Brunswick and Hove Lawns. The Club has used Eaton Road as its headquarters ever since.
For many years the Club failed to win the County Championship. However, during the decade of 2000 success at the major competition came in triplicate with victories in 2003, 2006 and 2007.
Many fine cricketers have played for the county, including C.B. Fry, K.S. Ranjitsinghi, Maurice Tate, David Sheppard and Ted Dexter. Many Sussex families have contributed generations of players such as the Coxes, the Langridges, the Parks and most recently the Wells father, son and uncle. The Hove Plinth icon is based on a model in porcelain of a batsman from the Brighton Museum Collections. It was made by Minton, Stoke-on-Trent Staffordshire by T. Fowkes in 1867